2019 AGM & Business After Hours

The Denmark Chamber of Commerce welcomed new faces to the 2020 Committee at the AGM last week at Estate 807 and Ajar Restaurant. 

Grant Richardson and Clare Harrison from Richardson Catering and Ajar Restaurant presented a wonderful array of locally sourced food and showcased why Ajar is proving to be a destination of choice for foodies within the region.

Estate 807 owner Ola Tylestam and staff member Robyn, provided excellent service and much welcomed refreshments to the forty strong Chamber crowd.

The AGM unveiled a new committee.  John Maxwell from Maxwell Designs stepped up as President with Stuart Evans from Kwoorabup Courier Services stepping into the position of Vice President.  John has been involved with the Denmark Chamber for many years and recognised the importance of having continuity in the key role.  John will lead the DCC through its 2019-20 business plan and welcomed people to make contact with him to discuss issues of relevance to the commercial sector.

Carl Heslop representing the Spirit of Play Community School remains in the Secretarial role for another year and continues a tradition of supporting staff at an operational level.

Chris Langslow of the Denmark Co-operative was nominated and accepted the position of Treasurer for a second term.

Our new committee members are; Jimi Talbot (Boston Brewing Co), Joss Harman (Country Property Brokers) Gill Atkinson (Denmark Good Food Factory)
all elected as Ordinary Committee Members unopposed.

Committee members on a second term:  Jeremy Spencer (Great Southern Biologic), Ian Rayson (Fridge and Washer City)

The representation among the Committee members and Executive reflect a growing interest in the future of our business community. Inspired by and reflecting the changes taking place within the new Local Planning Scheme, these individuals will play an important role in listening to the ideas and direction from business owners and colleagues across all industry sectors and playing a key role in informing local government strategy regarding economic development.

The Members confirmed the introduction of an Associate Membership level as a new inclusion into the Chamber constitution.  Aimed specifically at past business owners and community groups who are required to operate business models, this membership level will enable greater input into the Chamber from a broader range of our community.

Past President Stuart Evans of Kwoorabup Couriers presented his final report to the Chamber members and highlighted that whilst the Denmark Chamber of Commerce can be a voice, adapting to change still requires individual business owners to take action and cannot be left to one organisation.  Stuart thanked the staff and committee members for their contribution to Denmark and encouraged everyone to provide comment on the Chamber’s new website at www.denmarkchamber.com.au



Ajar Team: Grant Richardson, Claire Harrison and Felix from Richardson Catering

Gill Atkinson, Stuart Evans and Jon Atkinson

Sumer Addy, Joss Harman and John Maxwell

Author: Chamber Admin